French Holidays : 2022

French Holiday Calendar and Public Holidays for 2022

This page provides you informations about School Holiday Calendar and Public Holidays in France for 2022, and my special tips for you, to help you to find your best time to visit Palace of Versailles.


Christmas & New Year Holiday

Zone A, B and C (and most of European Holiday) : Saturday 18th December 2021 to Sunday 2nd January 2022.

During these 2 days of, Domain of Versailles is close :

  • Saturday 25th Décember 2021 : Christmas Day
  • Sunday 1st January 2022 : New Year
Christmas & New Year Holiday Tips
  • Prefered coming Wednesday or Thursday. If you can only come during these holidays, prefer going during the week. Remember, there are a lot of visitors every Sundays.
  • Domain of Versailles is close each Monday.
  • Avoid coming to Palace of Versailles during these French holidays : it’s crowded.
  • If you are on holidays in Paris during Christmas and New Year Holiday, enjoy visiting Paris the 25th December.

Back to top of French Holidays’ Calendar for 2022


Winter Holidays

Zone B : Saturday 5th to Sunday 20th February 2022
Zone A : Saturday 12th to Sunday 27th February 2022
Zone C : Saturday 19th February to Sunday 7th March 2022

Winter Holiday Tips
  • Prefered coming Wednesday or Thursday. If you can only come during these holidays, prefer going during the week. Remember, there are a lot of visitors every Sundays.
  • Domain of Versailles is close each Monday.
  • Avoid coming to Palace of Versailles during these French holidays : it’s crowded.

Back to top of French Holidays’ Calendar for 2022


Spring Holidays

Zone B : Saturday 9th to Sunday 24th April 2022
Zone A : Saturday 16th April to Sunday 1st May 2022
Zone C : Saturday 23 April to Sunday 8th May 2022

+ Zone A-B-C : Thursday 26th to 29 th May

Be careful : Friday 1st May 2022, Versailles’ Domain is close.

Spring Holiday Tips
  • During 3 long weekends, French people will make a break (named « le pont ») : it will be crowed these weekends.
        Monday 18st April : Monday’s Easter Day
        Thursday 21th May : Ascension Day
        Monday 6th June : Pentecôte Day
    If you come a weekend perfer : 2-3 April ; 9-10 April ; 23-24 April ; 7-8 May : 14-15 May ; 28-29 May and June until the 11th
  • Prefered coming Wednesday or Thursday. If you can only come during these holidays, prefer going during the week. Remember, there are a lot of visitors every Sundays.
  • Domain of Versailles is close each Monday.
  • Avoid coming to Palace of Versailles during these French holidays : it’s crowded.

Back to top of French Holidays’ Calendar for 2022


Summer Holidays

Zone A, B and C (and most of European Holiday) : Thursday 7th July to Sunday 4st September 2022.

Summer Holiday Tips
  • August is very busy. So if  you can, choose another month.
  • Prefered coming Wednesday or Thursday. If you can only come during these holidays, prefer going during the week. Remember, there are a lot of visitors every Sundays.
  • Domain of Versailles is close each Monday.
  • Avoid coming to Palace of Versailles during these French holidays : it’s crowded.

Back to top of French Holidays’ Calendar for 2022

French Mother, fan of art, gives you advice to prepare your best visit to Palace of Versailles.